Just another WordPress.com site

Posts tagged ‘The Text Prize’

Text Prize 2011

The Text Prize 2011 has been awarded to Myke Bartlett, for his adventure novel The Relic, in which mythological creatures invade suburban Perth and threaten the world.

The Text Prize is an award for unpublished Young Adult and Children’s writing and  is run every year, details can be found on Text Publishing‘s website.

Myke was born in Perth and is now based in Melbourne. He first began his writing career online, publishing several highly successful podcasted novels. His prize-winning novel will be published in August 2012.

From his Melbourne home, Bartlett confessed, ‘I actually wrote The Relic specifically for the Text Prize.

‘A poster advertising the prize has been stuck on the wall above my desk for the past 12 months and I really can’t imagine better motivation for a first time novelist. That The Relic has now actually won the competition seems just a little bit incredible.’

Michael Heyward, publisher at Text,  had this to say about The Relic, ‘Set in and around Perth, (it) is a fantasy novel that will make its readers smile but may also scare them under the bed. At its heart is a quest to find the secret that will save the planet. Myke Bartlett has assembled a great cast of characters to tell his adventurous tale. We can’t wait to publish (it).’

A big congratulations to Myke Bartlett.

Text Prize Short List

Text Publishing today announced the shortlist for the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing.

There were over 300 entries and the shortlisted books are:

  • The Relic, Myke Bartlett
  • The Accident, Kate Hendrick
  • Wild Card, Sophie Masson
  • Sparrow, Damian Morgan
  • The Brothers of Turoc, Rebecca Timmis
A big congratulations and much luck to all authors.

The winner will be announced at the Australian Booksellers’ Association Conference in Melbourne on Monday July 25, and on the Text website later that day. The winning book will be published by Text in mid-2012.


The Bridge – Book Trailer

The Bridge by Jane Higgins was the winner of the 2010 Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing. It is a post-apocalypic action novel that is due for release in August 2011.

Text have this to say about the book : The City is divided. The bridges gated. In Southside, the hostiles live in squalor and desperation, waiting for a chance to overrun the residents of Cityside. (It)  is a gritty adventure set in a future world where fear of outsiders pervades everything. A heart-stopping novel about friendship, identity and courage from an exciting new voice in young-adult fiction.

The Text Prize

Every year there are opportunities for unpublished authors to get their work seen by publishing houses The Text Prize is one such competition that is specifically for Young Adult and Children’s Writing. It is run annually  with the aim to discovering an outstanding unpublished manuscript for younger readers and targets Australia and New Zealand writers.

The Publisher at Text, Michael Heyward, hopes this award “will unearth some brilliant new writing for young readers, which we can take to the world as we have done for many adult writers on our list”.

You don’t need to be unpublished to enter and you can submit works of fiction or non-fiction. The competition is judged by a panel of editors from Text Publishing, the winner will be announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference to be held in Melbourne on 24–25 July 2011. The winner will receive a publishing contract with Text and a $10,000 advance against royalties.

Details can be found at Text Publishing.

The winner of the 2010 Text Prize was  post-apocalyptic action novel The Bridge by Jane Higgins. This is Shyness by Leanne Hall won in 2009 and the inaugural prize (2008) was won by The Billionaires Curse by Richard Newsome.

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: