Just another WordPress.com site

Posts tagged ‘LIANZA Awards’

2011 LIANZA Children’s Book Awards Short List Announced

The shortlists for this year’s Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa (LIANZA) Children’s Book Awards have been announced.

A big congratulations to all short listed authors and illustrators.

The shortlisted titles are:

LIANZA Esther Glen Award for junior fiction

  • The Haystack (Jack Lasenby, HarperCollins
  • Dreams of Warriors (Susan Brocker, HarperCollins)
  • The Sheep on the Fourth Floor (Leonie Thorpe, HarperCollins)
  • Boy Zero Wannabe Hero (Peter Millet, Faber)
  • Shadow of the Boyd (Diana Menefy, HarperCollins)

LIANZA Young Adult Award for fiction

  • Smiling Jack (Ken Catran, HarperCollins)
  • Fierce September (Fleur Beale, Random House)
  • Ebony Hill (Anna Mackenzie, Longacre Press)
  • Blood Lines (T K Roxborogh, Penguin)
  • Lethal Deliveries (Ken Benn, Puffin)
  • The Limping Man (Maurice Gee, Puffin)

LIANZA Russell Clark Award for illustration

  • The Moon and Farmer McPhee (Margaret Mahy & David Elliot, Random House)
  • Quaky Cat (Diana Noonan & Gavin Bishop, Scholastic)
  • Hill and Hole (Kyle Mewburn & Vasanti Unka, Puffin)
  • The Fierce Little Woman and the Wicked Pirate (Joy Cowley & Sarah Davis, Gecko Press)
  • A Dog Like That! (Janene Cooper & Evie Kemp, Duck Creek Press)

LIANZA Elsie Locke Award for nonfiction

  • ‘Weird Wabbit & Friends’ series (Vasanti Unka, Penguin)
  • The Life Cycle of Pukeko (Betty Brownlie, Scholastic)
  • Sensational Survivors (Sandra Morris, Walker Books)
  • The Kiwi Fossil Hunters Handbook (James Campton & Marianna Terezow, Random House)
  • The Tui New Zealand Kids’ Garden (Diana Noonan & Keith Olsen, Penguin)

Te Kura Pounamu (to reo Maori) Award

  • Mahiara (Sally Sutton, illus Brian Lovelock, retold by Kāterina Mataira, Walker Books)
  • Ngarimu: Te Tohu Toa (Andrew Burdan, Huia Publishers/ Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga – Ministry of Education)
  • Rawiri, Matiu, He Kura Te Tangata, He Ora Kai Te Kupu Series (Peti Nohotima, He Kupenga Hao i te Reo)
  • Manu Haututu (June Peka, illus Jo Thapa, retold by Kāterina Mataira, Scholastic)
  • Kapa, Te Niu Series (Hana Pōmare & Heni Jacob, HANA Limited/ Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga – Ministry of Education)
  • Te Mata o Tuna, a Hina rāua ko Mo’o Kuna (Hana Pōmare, Ellie-May Logan & Hēni Jacob, HANA Limited/ Te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga – Ministry of Education).

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced in Wellington on 8 August.

The LIANZA Children’s Book Awards are presented by New Zealand librarians for outstanding local children’s literature.

Tag Cloud


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

%d bloggers like this: