Just another WordPress.com site

Posts tagged ‘John Heffernan’

One of Those Days

By: John Heffernan and Gwyn Perkins

Most days are filled with moments that drag and are dull but sometimes Samantha wakes to a different kind of day. On one of those days her imagination carries her through wonderful moments and enjoyable times. Those days are the days she loves, the days she throws herself into. It is on those days that anything can happen. Samantha really looks forward to those days.

Imagination and expression are at the core of this fun book. The illustrations may be muted in colour but they still manage to be filled with wonder and joy. There is less text than some picture books so it would be better suited to younger listeners but it is definitely a good way to encourage a child’s imagination.

Publisher: Scholastic Australia

Published: 01 April 2012

Format: Paperback 32 pages

Categories: Picture Books, Imagination

ISBN 13: 9781741693355

Purchase: here or use Booktopia logo on side of page

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2011

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced this evening and the two categories that relate to children’s literature are the Patricia Wrightson Prize and the Ethel Turner Prize.


The Ethel Turner Prize ($30,000), named in honour of the acclaimed author of the children’s classic Seven Little Australians, is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for young people of secondary school level.

Previous winners of the Ethel Turner Prize include Mem Fox and Julie Vivas, Markus Zusak, Ursula Dubosarsky and James Roy.

2011 shortlisted writers are…

Michelle Cooper – The FitzOsbornes in Exile. The Montmaray Journals: 2

Cath Crowley – Graffiti Moon (Winner)

Kirsty Eagar – Saltwater Vampires

Belinda Jeffrey – Big River, Little Fish

Melina Marchetta – The Piper’s Son

Jaclyn Moriarty – Dreaming of Amelia


The Patricia Wrightson Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for children up to secondary school level.

The prize is named in honour of children’s author Patricia Wrightson, whose books have won many prestigious awards world – wide including the Hans Christian Andersen Medal (1986) for The Nargun and the Stars.

Previous winners of the Patricia Wrightson Prize include Odo Hirsch, Shaun Tan, Narelle Oliver, and Li Cunxin and Anne Spudvilas (illustrator).

2011 shortlisted writers are…

Jeannie Baker – Mirror

Libby Gleeson and Freya Blackwood – Clancy and Millie and the Very Fine House

Cassandra Golds – The Three Loves of Persimmon

John Heffernan – Where There’s Smoke

Sophie Masson – My Australian Story: The Hunt for Ned Kelly (Winner)

Emma Quay – Shrieking Violet

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: