Just another WordPress.com site

The Text Prize

Every year there are opportunities for unpublished authors to get their work seen by publishing houses The Text Prize is one such competition that is specifically for Young Adult and Children’s Writing. It is run annually  with the aim to discovering an outstanding unpublished manuscript for younger readers and targets Australia and New Zealand writers.

The Publisher at Text, Michael Heyward, hopes this award “will unearth some brilliant new writing for young readers, which we can take to the world as we have done for many adult writers on our list”.

You don’t need to be unpublished to enter and you can submit works of fiction or non-fiction. The competition is judged by a panel of editors from Text Publishing, the winner will be announced at the Australian Booksellers Association Conference to be held in Melbourne on 24–25 July 2011. The winner will receive a publishing contract with Text and a $10,000 advance against royalties.

Details can be found at Text Publishing.

The winner of the 2010 Text Prize was  post-apocalyptic action novel The Bridge by Jane Higgins. This is Shyness by Leanne Hall won in 2009 and the inaugural prize (2008) was won by The Billionaires Curse by Richard Newsome.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: